.:For Phans | By Phans:.

Log in

I forgot my password



Latest topics
» Favorite Character!
Sun Aug 04, 2013 8:18 am by PhantomoftheOperafan80

» Phavorite Phantom Philm
Sun Aug 04, 2013 8:15 am by PhantomoftheOperafan80

» NYPD said a police officer
Fri Nov 18, 2011 12:14 am by leofuner

» Protesters shut the
Fri Nov 18, 2011 12:13 am by leofuner

» Police captain arrested
Fri Nov 18, 2011 12:13 am by leofuner

» Demonstrators massed
Fri Nov 18, 2011 12:10 am by leofuner

» The Verizon skyscraper
Fri Nov 18, 2011 12:09 am by leofuner

» At least 300 people were
Fri Nov 18, 2011 12:09 am by leofuner

» The Gallery has been deleted, because it was staff-only
Tue Nov 15, 2011 3:33 am by leofuner

» The Gallery has been
Tue Nov 15, 2011 3:33 am by leofuner

»  --Cross Posted From The Portal
Tue Nov 15, 2011 3:32 am by leofuner

» Competition Instructions
Mon Nov 14, 2011 7:57 am by leofuner

» stone set on a band but
Mon Nov 14, 2011 7:56 am by leofuner

» So do you end
Mon Nov 14, 2011 7:56 am by leofuner

» Click here for the topic.
Mon Nov 14, 2011 7:51 am by leofuner


You are not connected. Please login or register

Review- 07/08/07 and 08/08/07

Go to page : 1, 2  Next

View previous topic View next topic Go down  Message [Page 1 of 2]

1 Review- 07/08/07 and 08/08/07 on Sun Aug 12, 2007 12:36 pm

EarlCarpenterFan

avatar
Lead Singer
Lead Singer
I posted a version of this somewhere else too, I've edited this one a bit though.



Tuesday 7th August 2.30pm- Earl Carpenter, Robyn North, Michael Xavier



I was sat in row E seat 11 for this show which is the closest I’ve ever been, and being in seat 11, I was right in the middle. The chandelier is just spectacular from here. It goes right over your head and seems to miss you by inches!

I saw so much more being at the front too, especially during the Hannibal rehearsal when nearly all of the company seem to be on stage. I enjoyed watching a nice little interaction between Carl P Adams (the man who dances with the ballet girls)and one of the ballet girls (not sure which one I’m afraid!) where he brought her a chair to sit on, and there was a mild flirtation going on. I’d never noticed the rest of the cast laughing at Christine at the beginning of Think of Me either.

I love the current supporting cast so much. Lindsey Wise is a joy to watch. I wasn’t sure about her at first but she is so cheeky and funny. She sticks her tongue out at Mme Giry at the end of Angel of Music! I loved how she was sneakily reading the notes on the managers desk during Notes, stopped and looked innocent as Raoul walked past the desk, and then carried on! Her reaction was nice when Christine takes her into her dressing room in Angel of Music…she had obviously never been in there before and it was huge treat for her.

Wendy Ferguson has grown on me as Carlotta. I always thought she was good, but I prefer angry Carlottas, and Wendy is more of a teary Carlotta. However she is still very funny and I’m starting to like her interpretation of the character more and more.

Rohan Tickell is a hilarious Piangi. I love his squeaky “amateurs!” Heather Jackson is a perfect Mme Giry, strict but kind.



Earl



I’m going to miss him in the role so much. His Music of the Night is always beautiful, he is so shy and nervous. He does the most wonderful jerky movements, especially in MOTN, and he seemed to panic when Christine fainted and stood there for a few moments as if he was wondering what he should do.

Final Lair was, as always, amazing. Earl’s spoken bits and the sarcastic clapping were brilliant. On ‘Wait, I think my dear we have a guest’ he leaned in close to Christine and said it in a stage whisper which I found a bit creepy for some reason. His reaction to the kiss was so sweet, hard to explain really. In STYDI when he took his hand away and Robyn sort of screamed a bit, he said ‘No no no’ quickly to stop her before singing his next line which I thought was a nice touch.



Robyn



I thought she was great. She looks beautiful, has a great voice and acted well. The woman sat next to me had been a music teacher and said she has a ‘phenomenal range’. She was so nervous at the beginning of TOM, more than any other Christine I’ve seen. I noticed the veil fall off during Final Lair so instead of ripping it off her head she had to pick it up instead before throwing it down (I think it fell off and landed on the monkey’s head?).





Michael



Michael is perfect. I must say, I found his hair quite distracting! Embarassed Wink He is forceful but not too forceful and doesn’t get on my nerves at all which is rare for me and Raouls! The kiss in AIAOY was great…the first one was an embarrassed, uncomfortable one but the second was so passionate! I love his hesitation before going into Christine’s dressing room too.



Stage Door



There were a lot of people there which made things a bit difficult. I got Earl’s autograph again (after barging straight into him….Embarassed Wink ) and felt guilty for drawing lots of other peoples attention to him by doing that! Michael got totally mobbed as he seems to do after every show now, but he was very patient and friendly and was there a while posing for photos. I didn’t see anybody else come out which was strange. Either a lot of people were staying inside or I wasn’t recognising people.



Nobody stood up at the end and I was too shy to start a standing ovation! Somebody shouted something at Michael but I couldn’t tell what it was. He nodded at them though.







Wednesday 08/08/07 7.30pm- Earl Carpenter, Leila Benn Harris, Michael Xavier



I was sat in B7 (the front row of the stalls) which was a nice seat but the conductor was in my way now and again (even though those seats aren’t reduced in price), and the chandelier isn’t quite as spectacular this close and I couldn’t really see Earl at all for AIAOY Reprise.

It was the best performance of Phantom I’ve seen yet though.



Earl, Michael and the rest of the cast were brilliant for this show as usual so I don’t need to say much about them!



Leila was fantastic and now my favourite Christine (with Celia Graham a close second!). She looked so young which fits the story perfectly. Her voice is beautiful and perfect for Christine. It was very girly (I can’t think of a better word to describe it!) at first but it matured as the show went on, and, interestingly, went girly again after Wishing, when Earl appeared. During STYDI she was peeking through her hair at Earl when she was on the floor which was adorable. Being on the front row, I could see real tears on her face during a couple of parts, such as WYWSHA which certainly added something. She is a very cute Christine but when she gets angry, she really gets angry! She is perfect.



The Phantom didn't pop up in Box 5 just before Don Juan when they’re securing the doors like he usually does but I don't know why.The policeman in the pit shot anyway though.



The Final Lair was particularly excellent. Earl, Leila and Michael work so well together. Just before Earl raised the portcullis, he made a ‘huh’ noise, a bit like a laugh, at Michael’s ‘Let me see her!’ which I loved!

Another interesting bit was when Raoul was let into the lair. After hugging Christine, he was examining the wedding dress with disgust. It even looked like they were arguing, he seemed to be shouting at her as if he was saying ‘Why are you wearing this?’ and Leila looked upset and turned away a little which was when the Phantom put the rope around Raoul’s neck. Usually, Raoul just looks like he is reassuring Christine. Maybe I’m misinterpreting it but I don’t know.



I’m glad to say that there was a standing ovation after this show!



Stage Door



Once again, there were too many people there. I let Earl run away this time because I still felt guilty about the day before!

Michael got mobbed again and I got a second photo with him.

Leila got mobbed a bit as well and was very sweet. I told her she was the best Christine I’ve ever seen which she seemed quite pleased about! I got a photo with her too.

The only other person I managed to catch and get a photo with was Rohan Tickell who is lovely and chatted for a bit.



And here are my photos Very Happy



Michael Xavier 1







Michael Xavier 2







Leila Benn Harris







Rohan Tickell (Piangi)
















Sorry its long, and I'm don't know why there are weird gaps in it Neutral


_________________
Rachel xxx
Keeper of Earl Carpenter's Music of the Night and Final Lair, and also Celia Graham's Think of me.
View user profile http://www.myspace.com/earlcarpenterfan

2 Re: Review- 07/08/07 and 08/08/07 on Sun Aug 12, 2007 4:26 pm

RedDeath

avatar
Main Phantom
Main Phantom
Wow, that was perfectly detailed. I love the pictures, too. Lelia doesn't look like a Christine, to me. I don't know why, it's just... She doesn't look the part. Rohan Tickell look like Anthony Hopkins!! Shocked


_________________

Keeper of The Monkey Girl in 'Masquerade' [in ALW's musical], animated POTO chandelier, & JOJ's laugh
4/6/06:: The Day... The Music... Died. Crying or Very sad
View user profile http://xnecronomiconx.weebly.com

3 Re: Review- 07/08/07 and 08/08/07 on Sun Aug 12, 2007 5:11 pm

EarlCarpenterFan

avatar
Lead Singer
Lead Singer
He does actually doesn't he! He has a fantastic Australian accent too, in real life.
I wasn't sure about Leila when I first saw her headshot...but she looks adorable and has a sweet little voice. She plays a young Christine which works so well.


_________________
Rachel xxx
Keeper of Earl Carpenter's Music of the Night and Final Lair, and also Celia Graham's Think of me.
View user profile http://www.myspace.com/earlcarpenterfan

4 Re: Review- 07/08/07 and 08/08/07 on Sun Aug 12, 2007 5:58 pm

RedDeath

avatar
Main Phantom
Main Phantom
Lelia looks like she could be a good Lucy in Jekyll and Hyde...


_________________

Keeper of The Monkey Girl in 'Masquerade' [in ALW's musical], animated POTO chandelier, & JOJ's laugh
4/6/06:: The Day... The Music... Died. Crying or Very sad
View user profile http://xnecronomiconx.weebly.com

5 Re: Review- 07/08/07 and 08/08/07 on Mon Aug 13, 2007 9:48 am

EarlCarpenterFan

avatar
Lead Singer
Lead Singer
She'd make an adorable Cosette too...qand she could certainly sing the role.


_________________
Rachel xxx
Keeper of Earl Carpenter's Music of the Night and Final Lair, and also Celia Graham's Think of me.
View user profile http://www.myspace.com/earlcarpenterfan

6 Re: Review- 07/08/07 and 08/08/07 on Mon Aug 13, 2007 11:16 am

Everything was wonderful...I'm so sad because of Earl Sad I've never met him at the stage door Sad and I haven't got any autograph Sad....

Leila looks pretty a friends said that she's beautiful and her voice is beautiful as her

View user profile http://thephantomintheopera.piczo.com/?cr=7&rfm=y

7 Re: Review- 07/08/07 and 08/08/07 on Mon Aug 13, 2007 11:21 am

EarlCarpenterFan

avatar
Lead Singer
Lead Singer
LittleWanderingChild wrote:I'm so sad because of Earl Sad I've never met him at the stage door Sad and I haven't got any autograph Sad....

Sad You could write to him? He sent me an autograph when I wrote to him. Very Happy
Heres a photo of it....






LittleWanderingChild wrote:Leila looks pretty a friends said that she's beautiful and her voice is beautiful as her

That is very true. She has a gorgeous voice.


_________________
Rachel xxx
Keeper of Earl Carpenter's Music of the Night and Final Lair, and also Celia Graham's Think of me.
View user profile http://www.myspace.com/earlcarpenterfan

8 Re: Review- 07/08/07 and 08/08/07 on Mon Aug 13, 2007 11:26 am

I want write to him but I haven't got his adress...


(I LOVE THAT AUTOGRAPH)

View user profile http://thephantomintheopera.piczo.com/?cr=7&rfm=y

9 Re: Review- 07/08/07 and 08/08/07 on Mon Aug 13, 2007 11:32 am

EarlCarpenterFan

avatar
Lead Singer
Lead Singer
If you write quickly before he leaves Phantom, you could just send it to:

Earl Carpenter
Stage Door
Her Majesty's Theatre
Haymarket
London
SW1Y 4QL


He wrote back to me very quickly (and it arrived on Valentine's Day!).


_________________
Rachel xxx
Keeper of Earl Carpenter's Music of the Night and Final Lair, and also Celia Graham's Think of me.
View user profile http://www.myspace.com/earlcarpenterfan

10 Re: Review- 07/08/07 and 08/08/07 on Mon Aug 13, 2007 11:34 am

THANK YOUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU
UUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU
UUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU
UUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU
UUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU
UUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU

View user profile http://thephantomintheopera.piczo.com/?cr=7&rfm=y

11 Re: Review- 07/08/07 and 08/08/07 on Mon Aug 13, 2007 9:56 pm

RedDeath

avatar
Main Phantom
Main Phantom
What do you have to send with it? A larger envelope, right?


_________________

Keeper of The Monkey Girl in 'Masquerade' [in ALW's musical], animated POTO chandelier, & JOJ's laugh
4/6/06:: The Day... The Music... Died. Crying or Very sad
View user profile http://xnecronomiconx.weebly.com

12 Re: Review- 07/08/07 and 08/08/07 on Tue Aug 14, 2007 5:34 am

EarlCarpenterFan

avatar
Lead Singer
Lead Singer
Yes, I suppose its polite and you're more likely to get a reply if you send a self addressed envelope with a stamp on it, and yes, the larger the better I guess.


_________________
Rachel xxx
Keeper of Earl Carpenter's Music of the Night and Final Lair, and also Celia Graham's Think of me.
View user profile http://www.myspace.com/earlcarpenterfan

13 Re: Review- 07/08/07 and 08/08/07 on Tue Aug 14, 2007 11:00 am

RedDeath

avatar
Main Phantom
Main Phantom
When exactly does he leave, btw?


_________________

Keeper of The Monkey Girl in 'Masquerade' [in ALW's musical], animated POTO chandelier, & JOJ's laugh
4/6/06:: The Day... The Music... Died. Crying or Very sad
View user profile http://xnecronomiconx.weebly.com

14 Re: Review- 07/08/07 and 08/08/07 on Tue Aug 14, 2007 12:48 pm

8 or 7 september.

What means envelope?

View user profile http://thephantomintheopera.piczo.com/?cr=7&rfm=y

15 Re: Review- 07/08/07 and 08/08/07 on Tue Aug 14, 2007 10:28 pm

RedDeath

avatar
Main Phantom
Main Phantom
you should enclose an envelope with your address and a stamp on it so he can just send the autograph and not have to worry about buying an envelope, etc.

Rachel, what should the letter to him say...?


_________________

Keeper of The Monkey Girl in 'Masquerade' [in ALW's musical], animated POTO chandelier, & JOJ's laugh
4/6/06:: The Day... The Music... Died. Crying or Very sad
View user profile http://xnecronomiconx.weebly.com

16 Re: Review- 07/08/07 and 08/08/07 on Wed Aug 15, 2007 6:47 am

EarlCarpenterFan

avatar
Lead Singer
Lead Singer
I just told him how brilliant he is, that he is my favourite Phantom, his MOTN is the best I've ever seen etc. General phangirl stuff!

I asked him a couple of questions too but he ignored then and just sent an autograph. Better than nothing though! I sent the letter on a monday and it arrived back to me on the wednesday! Hes very efficient!

I might send another letter to him because I won't get to see him again. I need to know what his plans are after Phantom. (I also want to say sorry for bumping into him!)


_________________
Rachel xxx
Keeper of Earl Carpenter's Music of the Night and Final Lair, and also Celia Graham's Think of me.
View user profile http://www.myspace.com/earlcarpenterfan

17 Re: Review- 07/08/07 and 08/08/07 on Thu Aug 16, 2007 6:06 am

RedDeath

avatar
Main Phantom
Main Phantom
Haha, I'm sorry to nit-pick but, are there special dimensions for the envelope size? I want one big enough so the pic wont fold or wrinkle


_________________

Keeper of The Monkey Girl in 'Masquerade' [in ALW's musical], animated POTO chandelier, & JOJ's laugh
4/6/06:: The Day... The Music... Died. Crying or Very sad
View user profile http://xnecronomiconx.weebly.com

18 Re: Review- 07/08/07 and 08/08/07 on Thu Aug 16, 2007 7:20 am

EarlCarpenterFan

avatar
Lead Singer
Lead Singer
I will go and measure the one I sent!

The envelope I used is about 23cm/9 inches by 16cm/6.5 inches.

I folded the self-addressed envelope inside the main envelope, if you see what I mean.

He folded the piece of Phantom paper around the signed picture when he sent it back!


_________________
Rachel xxx
Keeper of Earl Carpenter's Music of the Night and Final Lair, and also Celia Graham's Think of me.
View user profile http://www.myspace.com/earlcarpenterfan

19 Re: Review- 07/08/07 and 08/08/07 on Thu Aug 16, 2007 7:20 am

EarlCarpenterFan

avatar
Lead Singer
Lead Singer
I will go and measure the one I sent!

The envelope I used is about 23cm/9 inches by 16cm/6.5 inches.

I folded the self-addressed envelope inside the main envelope, if you see what I mean.

He folded the piece of Phantom paper around the signed picture when he sent it back!


_________________
Rachel xxx
Keeper of Earl Carpenter's Music of the Night and Final Lair, and also Celia Graham's Think of me.
View user profile http://www.myspace.com/earlcarpenterfan

20 Re: Review- 07/08/07 and 08/08/07 on Thu Aug 16, 2007 7:43 am

RedDeath

avatar
Main Phantom
Main Phantom
Alright, thank you SO much!! Very Happy I hope he responds... Maybe you were just lucky...


_________________

Keeper of The Monkey Girl in 'Masquerade' [in ALW's musical], animated POTO chandelier, & JOJ's laugh
4/6/06:: The Day... The Music... Died. Crying or Very sad
View user profile http://xnecronomiconx.weebly.com

21 Re: Review- 07/08/07 and 08/08/07 on Thu Aug 16, 2007 7:47 am

EarlCarpenterFan

avatar
Lead Singer
Lead Singer
I know somebody else who got a response so I think he will!


_________________
Rachel xxx
Keeper of Earl Carpenter's Music of the Night and Final Lair, and also Celia Graham's Think of me.
View user profile http://www.myspace.com/earlcarpenterfan

22 Re: Review- 07/08/07 and 08/08/07 on Thu Aug 16, 2007 7:49 am

RedDeath

avatar
Main Phantom
Main Phantom
I'll be hoping. And I cant believe you got it back so quickly!


_________________

Keeper of The Monkey Girl in 'Masquerade' [in ALW's musical], animated POTO chandelier, & JOJ's laugh
4/6/06:: The Day... The Music... Died. Crying or Very sad
View user profile http://xnecronomiconx.weebly.com

23 Re: Review- 07/08/07 and 08/08/07 on Thu Aug 16, 2007 7:52 am

RedDeath

avatar
Main Phantom
Main Phantom
Hey, quick question:: What size was the actual pic you got back? Or the self addressed envelope.


_________________

Keeper of The Monkey Girl in 'Masquerade' [in ALW's musical], animated POTO chandelier, & JOJ's laugh
4/6/06:: The Day... The Music... Died. Crying or Very sad
View user profile http://xnecronomiconx.weebly.com

24 Re: Review- 07/08/07 and 08/08/07 on Thu Aug 16, 2007 3:54 pm

EarlCarpenterFan

avatar
Lead Singer
Lead Singer
The self addressed envelope was also 23cm/9 inches by 16cm/6.5 inches. I just folded it to fit it inside the other.

Somebody moved my ruler Rolling Eyes , I'll have to get back to you about exact measurements of the photo when it turns up again, but the photo was a bit smaller than the envelope and he folded a piece of A4 Phantom of the Opera paper around it.


_________________
Rachel xxx
Keeper of Earl Carpenter's Music of the Night and Final Lair, and also Celia Graham's Think of me.
View user profile http://www.myspace.com/earlcarpenterfan

25 Re: Review- 07/08/07 and 08/08/07 on Thu Aug 16, 2007 9:35 pm

RedDeath

avatar
Main Phantom
Main Phantom
I was just wondering a-round-about estimate of the size. I was curious to see if the autographed picture was large or small. That's all.

And thanks, I appreciate it a LOT!


_________________

Keeper of The Monkey Girl in 'Masquerade' [in ALW's musical], animated POTO chandelier, & JOJ's laugh
4/6/06:: The Day... The Music... Died. Crying or Very sad
View user profile http://xnecronomiconx.weebly.com

Sponsored content


View previous topic View next topic Back to top  Message [Page 1 of 2]

Go to page : 1, 2  Next

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum